Osram Opto Semiconductors GmbH

Osram hat eine große Zahl von Beispielen mit dem T3Ster getestet um eine vollständige radiometrische Charakterisierung der LED anzubieten.

Seitdem LEDs immer leistungsfähiger werden, sollte dem thermischen Management mehr Aufmerksamkeit entgegengebracht werden, was widerum bedeutend für die Sicherstellung stabiler LED Leistung und einer langen Lebensdauer ist. Aus diesem Grund widmet sich OSRAM mit großer Aufmerksamkeit dem thermischen Design. Die Genauigkeit und die Reproduzierbarkeit des T3Ster´s macht es uns möglich unsere thermischen Designs zu verifizieren und die Haltbarkeit und Zuverlässigkeit unserer Produkte zu attestieren. Durch das Testen der großen Menge bekommen wir eine gesteigerte statistische Übereinstimmung in den Messergebnissen. Die in die T3Ster Software eingebauten Strukturfunktionen sind extrem leistungsfähig um unterschiedliche thermische Anbindungsprobleme zu identifizieren.”

Dr. Thomas Zahner, Qualitätsmanager Osram Opto Semiconductors GmbH Regensburg, Germany

Design Herausforderungen für LED Packages

Eine hoch effiziente Lichtausbeute mit den benötigten photometrischen, farblichen und radiometrischen Eigenschaften in Verbindung mit effektiver Ableitung der Abwärme zu erreichen ist keine leichte Aufgabe. LEDs müssen bei viel niedrigeren Temperaturen arbeiten um eine hohe Lichtausbeite und Qualität zu gewährleisten, also ist die thermische Leistungsfähigkeit des LED Packages ein kritischer Faktor: eine gute Kühlung mittels Wärmeleitung durch mehrere thermische Schnittstellen muss in einem haltbaren, zuverlässigen Produkt bereitgestellt werden.

T3Ster und T3Ster® TeraLED® bieten eine vollständige radiometrische Charakterisierung von LEDs

Um exakte thermische Eigenschaften zu erzielen, die den richtigen Wert für die emittierte optische Leistung berücksichtigen, kann der T3Ster mit dem T3Ster® TeraLED® System kombiniert werden um eine vollständige radiometrische Charakterisierung der LED während der thermischen transienten Messung zu erhalten. Alle thermischen Schnittstellen im Wärmeflusspfad können genau bestimmt werden inklusive dem LED die-attach.

T3Ster Messungen mit akustischer Mikroskopie verifiziert

Osram hat eine große Zahl von Beispielen mit dem T3Ster getestet und die akustische Mikroskopie verwendet um die Messfähigkeiten des T3Sters zu verifizieren.

Related Resources

Sign In
Forgot Password?
Sign In | | Create Account

Osram Opto Semiconductors GmbH

Osram have tested a large number of samples with T3Ster to provide a full radiometric characterization of the LED.

Download PDF (938kb)

Electronics, LED, Lighting, MicReD

As LEDs become more powerful, more attention should be paid to thermal management, which is essential to ensure stable LED performance and long lifetime. This is why OSRAM is devoting considerable attention to thermal design. T3Ster's accuracy and repeatability enable us to verify our thermal designs and confirm the stability and reliability of our products. By testing in bulk we get increased statistical confidence in the measurement results. The structure functions built into the T3Ster software are extremely powerful for identifying different thermal attach issues during our extensive reliability testing.”

Dr. Thomas Zahner, Quality Manager Osram Opto Semiconductors GmbH Regensburg, Germany

LED package design challenges

To achieve highly efficient light output having the required photometric, colorimetric and radiometric characteristics, coupled with effective removal of the generated heat is not an easy task. LEDs need to operate at much lower temperatures to ensure high light output and quality, so the LED package's thermal performance is critical: good conductive cooling through multiple thermal interfaces has to be provided in a stable, reliable product.

T3Ster and TeraLED provide full radiometric characterization of LEDs

To obtain exact thermal metrics that correctly account for the emitted optical power, T3Ster can be combined with the TeraLED system to provide a full radiometric characterization of the LED during the thermal transient testing. All thermal interfaces in the heat flow path can be precisely quantified including the LED die-attach.

T3Ster measurements verified with acoustic microscopy

Osram have tested a large number of samples with T3Ster and used acoustic microscopy to verify T3Ster's measurement capabilities.

About Osram Opto Semiconductors

Osram Opto Semiconductors GmbH, Regensburg, is a wholly owned subsidiary of Osram GmbH, one of the world’s three largest lamp manufacturers, and offers its customers a range of solutions based on semiconductor technology for lighting, sensor and visualization applications. The company operates facilities in Regensburg (Germany), San José (USA) and Penang (Malaysia). Further information is available at www.osram-os.com.

Related Resources

 
Online Chat